Mnemoni–What?

Memento

Last week my students had a research report due, worth a major grade.  I have done everything I can think of to get kids to finish and turn in their projects, to no avail.  Here’s a short list of things I’ve tried with them:

  • students wrote in their school agendas
  • assignment written on the whiteboard
  • said as many times as possible in class, to particular students, making eye contact
  • made said students repeat the due date to me multiple times
  • posted requirements, links, and how-tos on the school website
  • put sticky notes on binders
  • used conference/event style wristbands with directions written on them
  • made students call their parents in front of me

Naturally, I figured there was no way a student could forget to finish his or her presentation now.

Today I began asking students about missing presentations.  In every one of my classes today, I was met with blank stares and students saying, “what project?”

Sigh.

♦♦♦

I told myself I was never going to do this, but I think it’s time.

I am buying a tattoo gun.

3 thoughts on “Mnemoni–What?

  1. This blog is awesome! What a great use of your snow days. I thought that I was going to get away from all the excuses when I quit teaching to tutor, but just today I had a conversation with a parent about a kid who’s not doing his homework! I’m pretty sure the tattoo gun won’t help, either. Problem is that they would still have t read it!
    Keep doing what you’re doing and don’t lose any sleep over it.
    Oh, and come visit us. Been a log time since you were in our wedding…we have a baby now!

  2. It’s difficult to get kids to do anything if the parents don’t reinforce the importance of education at home. This is what really gets me steamed about some parents out there (including my husband’s ex). Just know that you are doing your best, Phillip. As the saying goes, “You can lead a horse to water…”

  3. Keep these coming!! It’s fascinating to hear these little stories and confessions. :) This one reminds me that I too have been given all the tools, reminders, and encouragement to accomplish certain things…and to my discredit I find myself looking at “the teacher” saying, “what project?”. Great reminder to us all and not just jr high students.

Leave a Reply

