Back to the Grind

It’s that time of year again.  Time to put away the margarita glasses, switch out the flip flops for Sperrys, and dust off the briefcase.  The school year is now in session.

I have to admit, I was unprepared for this school year.  Yes, this is my 6th year of teaching middle school, but the summer ended in sort of a mental haze for me.  I sat through a swirl of meetings throughout last week, drifting along like a leaf in a pond.  I awoke at 6 a.m. on the first day of school, unsure whether walking into the classroom was really happening in a couple of hours.

The first day of school wasn’t too bad, though.  I introduced 150 young students to the school and got them through the day.  Now, if I can get my head in the game, I’ll get through the next few days, too.

Leave a Reply

