Day 1 or Welcome Back

Welcome back to Confessions of a Middle School English Teacher!

I know what you’re thinking, and no, I did not die.  Last year was wrought with personal issues, from a cancer scare to a bout of depression to the start of a new novel, so I let the blog lay fallow.

But today is the start of a new school year, and and a new blog entry. First, I must say that despite a rough personal life last year, last year’s students were the best I’ve ever had.  I told my kids on the last day of school that I was going to miss them–and I meant it.  I really was blessed to have them.

Roster-farian

I have 170 students on my roster for this year.  Needless to say, I was praying for families to move away.  There is nothing to be done about the numbers; until another school is built, we just have to keep adding desks and squeezing them in.  The problem, though, is that there is no way to fit these kids into my monkey sphere.  The sheer number of kids makes it hard to remember names and form relationships.  My biggest class–32.

Hello Ms. __________, I’m calling from…

You know it’s going to be rough when you have to make a parent phone call on the first day of school.  I already had a student that was having behavior issues (A.K.A. being a little shit).  I mean, normally they at least test the waters for a couple of days before acting up.  Oh, but not today.  I had a child tell me he wanted to learn how to rob a bank and interrupted the class several times with loud and obnoxious behavior.  Let’s just say we’re going to have problems, he and I.

Well, here’s to another school year full of antics and (hopefully) plenty of learning.  Oh, and if you know any teachers, say a little prayer for them.  They’ll need it.

Leave a Reply

