Lexicomedosaurus

On the second day of school I had students create alliterative name tents for themselves in a vain attempt to learn their names.  Each child made his or her own silly name such as Jalapeño Jaime or Athletic Alex or whatnot, and designed it on a tri-folded sheet of manila paper.  One student, a young blonde girl, walked up to me to ask me a question.

“[A+ Teacher], do you know what a Tyrannosaurus is?”

Perplexed and intrigued, I tilted my head and furled my brow.

“Um, yes…”

“Do you have one?”

“Yes, I have a pet Tyrannosaurus in my backyard,” I replied jokingly, assuming she was being silly.

She shot me a doubly perplexed look.

“I’m pretty sure they’ve been extinct for a very long time,” I added frankly.

She paused, visibly confused, and said, “Uh, you know, a Tyrannosaurus.  You look use it to look up words…”

Bing! Enter lightbulb over the head.

“Oh!  You mean a Thesaurus.  They’re over there,” I pointed to the shelf lined with little yellow thesauri.

“Great, thanks!” she replied and bounced off toward the bookshelf unaware of just how hard I had to control myself to not collapse in laughter.

2 thoughts on “Lexicomedosaurus

Leave a Reply

