Merry Sugar-Coated Christmas to You

I’m not a fan of sweets or apples–the two things that students constantly drop off at my desk that kids assume teachers love.  I don’t know why, but I’ve just never had much of a sweet tooth.  

During the Christmas season, sugar-coated tidbits made by students’ parents or (gulp) students themselves are loaded up on my desk every class period.  The setting quickly becomes a small mountain of candy canes, sugar cookies, and chocolate pretzels wrapped in red and green cellophane.  Honestly, it makes me a bit noxious.  

I always accept and give a gracious thank-you to the student, but once the student turns away, I “share” the treats with other students.  I say, “Gosh, there is so much here, I can’t possibly eat all this myself!  Would anyone like some?” 

Immediately my desk is aswarm with little germy hands held out for a small bounty of cookies and caramel and whatnot.  I unload all the sugary treats on these kids, minus a bit of dark chocolate if it can be found.

It’s a win-win situation.  The kids feel appreciated, and I don’t acquire diabetes.  

Now, if you’ll please excuse me, I’m going to go eat some kale.  

Leave a Reply

