Mathematics

I do not teach math.  To me, mathematics belongs in the same mythological realm as unicorns and mountain trolls–interesting to think about, fun in riddles and puzzles, but ultimately unreal.  I mean, what is a number really, but a description of something that actually is.

Nonetheless, I recently made the mistake of doing math.

Last night I graded papers for four and a half hours, a regular occurrence for me.  Most weeks I push a sixty hour work week, which in the overtime world would be awesome because I’d bank and probably own a yacht and drink martinis or some other silly nonsense.  But mind you, I am a teacher–the noble profession.

Somehow I had the terrible idea to calculate how much money I brought home, considering the actual hours I work.  Bad idea, teacher.

Bad, bad idea.

Put It in a Word Problem

Let’s say that I take home dollars each month at a grueling, thankless, yet indispensable job.  I am paid for working a laughable forty hours a week.  Yet since I work sixty hours each week without overtime pay, what is discrepancy between the paid the dollar amount and the actual earned amount in terms of y in dollars per hour ?

I’m no mathematician, and my formula could probably be better expressed, but since math is mythological, it doesn’t really matter as long as the magical numbers balance in the end:

Math = Unicorns

Math = Unicorns

In any case, it wasn’t the difference in the pay per hour that mattered, but the fact that after working out the calculations, I realized that with as many hours as I work, I am pocketing less per hour than when I waited tables at The Olive Garden as a college student.

Would you like to sample our new Valpolicella?  Soup or salad?  I’ll get  you some more breadsticks…

7 thoughts on “Mathematics

  1. That sounds about right. If you’re being paid for a standard 40 hour week, and you’re working 60, the discrepancy could be calculated very roughly to be R=\frac{w\times x}{s}.

    R is your adjusted hourly rate, w is your normal wage, x is the number of hours you should work in a week and s is your actual number of hours.

    So in your case, we could use x=40 and s=60 to obtain a rough value of R=\frac{w\times40}{60}=\frac{2R}{3}.

    Hope that makes sense.
    If it’s any consolation, my old boss worked about 65 hours a week (but only got paid for 36) – I did a calculation like this and it said he earned an adjusted rate of $9.50 per hour. Which is horrible.

    …oh, and sorry. I completely crashed this status with my math.

  2. I get it that teachers work hard, but journalists work just as hard — X hours per week past 40 hours with no extra pay, lesser starting salaries that those for starting teachers, no pension, AND they have to work a full year, not a 180-or 185-day contract. When you calculate the pay based on number of days worked, journalists are making $40 to $50 less a day than a teacher. Just saying …. teachers always complain about how awful their jobs are. Journalists have it a lot worse. :D

  3. I do not know if it’s just me or if everyone else encountering problems with your
    site. It appears as though some of the text on your content are running off the
    screen. Can someone else please comment and let
    me know if this is happening to them too? This may be a
    issue with my web browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Appreciate it

Leave a comment